Beg the Internet…

Google is beginning to fail to scale: there are now so many things on the internet and my memory for unique key words is so foggy that I can no longer find things I know exist.So I say, “Help!”For example:>From: Brad DeLong Subject: Economists’ Loss of Public Authority as a Result of the Stagflation of the 1970s… To: Paul R Krugman>Somewhere you have a very nice paragraph about how economists used to have authority in general because people believed we had witchcraft that could produce full employment and price stability, and that we lost that authority in the 1970s. Do you by any chance remember where? I would like to quote it…>From: Paul R. Krugman Subject: Economists’ Loss of Public Authority as a Result of the Stagflation of the 1970s… To: Brad DeLong>Gah. I don’t remember where I said it. But I do remember that I made an analogy with high-energy physics, which got lavish funding for decades on the strength of the atom bomb; Keynesian macro was similarly treated on the basis of public belief that economists really had something to offer…

Leave a Reply

